Station to Station XIV…

The Silent Eye

x hobhurst, ballcross, bakewell, sheffield weekend 014

A Psychological Interpretation

Pontius Pilate = Super Ego
Jesus = Ego
Water-Bearer = Id

There has always been debate about the number of Stations…
Is it fourteen or is it fifteen?
And what is a station anyway: a stationary point in the journey or a passage from one point to another?

Sensibly, The Condemnation, and the Receipt of the Cross must start the sequence, in that order, and also sensibly the Nailing, Death, Deposition and Entombment, in that order, must end the sequence unless one wishes to posit the un-canonical episodes as visions on the cross which we do not…

Which leaves eight icons and eight is the ‘Jesus number’.
It is difficult not to have the Stripping before the Nailing…
…which leaves seven icons.

Meeting the mother must come after the receipt for the cross is the symbol of the mother or of what she gives and the first…

View original post 139 more words

2 thoughts on “Station to Station XIV…

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s